2005 05 12 Minutes





May 12, 2005

State of Texas

County of Grimes

The Board of Aldermen of the Town of Anderson met in regular open session in the American Legion Building in Anderson, Texas, at 7:00 p.m. Thursday, May 12, 2005. Present were Mayor Gail Sowell, Alderwoman Erna Freeman, Aldermen David Heyman and Ernest Henderson and Attorney Lovett Boggess. Alderman Bill Robinett was absent. Alderman Tom Johanson arrived at 7:27 p.m.

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 p.m.

The scheduled election of May 7, 2005 was cancelled because all candidates were unopposed. City Attorney Lovett Boggess administered the Oath of Office to newly elected officials Gail Sowell, Ernest Henderson and Tom Johanson. The officials signed Oaths required by law.

Mayor Sowell asked that minutes from the regular meeting held on April 14, 2005 be considered/approved. A motion to approve the minutes as presented was made by Alderwoman Erna Freeman. Alderman David Heyman seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Because of the Grimes County Fair overlapping the regular meeting date of June 9, Mayor Sowell asked that the June meeting be moved to June 16. All members agreed.

Alderman David Heyman made a motion to order all invoices and accounts currently due and payable paid. Alderwoman Erna Freeman seconded the motion; all members present voted in favor of the motion.

Mayor Sowell discussed miscellaneous items with members present: property gift to the town; Carl Schroeder regarding the work to be done on the shoulders of Main St., north of the courthouse; and plans to speak to Gary Parsons of TMPA regarding bottom ash to upgrade the RAP the city has secured. In regard to the streetlights around town, Alderman Ernest Henderson agreed to work with her on the project.

The Aldermen reorganized to elect one of its members Mayor Pro-Tem and one Secretary. Motion was made by Alderman David Heyman to elect Alderwoman Erna Freeman as Mayor Pro-Tem. Alderman Tom Johanson seconded the motion; all members present voted in favor of the motion. Alderwoman Erna Freeman made a motion to re-elect Alderman David Heyman as Secretary. Alderman Ernest Henderson seconded the motion; all members present voted in favor of the motion.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:36 p.m.

Posted in


October 02

October 13


P.O. Box 592
Anderson, TX 77830

Ph: (936) 873-3102